The Unicode Consortium announced the release of the latest version of the Unicode Standard, Version 4.1.0. This version adds 1,273 new characters, including those necessary to complete roundtrip mapping of the HKSCS and GB 18030 standards, five new currency signs, some characters for Indic and Korean, and eight new scripts. In addition, there have been a number of significant additions and changes to the Unicode Character Database properties, which determine the behavior of characters in modern software.

Unicode 4.1 adds two new Unicode Standard Annexes: UAX #31: Identifier and Pattern Syntax and UAX #34: Unicode Named Character Sequences, and makes significant changes to other Unicode Standard Annexes. UAX #31 is of particular interest as a result of the broader incorporation of Unicode in protocols and programming languages. Applications from programming languages to international domain names require stable mechanisms for distinguishing both identifiers and syntax characters, even as characters for additional languages are added to the Unicode Standard.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access