With Saturday marking the one-year anniversary of the implementation of ICD-10 codes, healthcare organizations must now focus on some new requirements that went into effect on October 1.

While the transition from ICD-9 version codes universally is considered to be an unqualified success, the ICD-10 grace period has ended, and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services no longer will be accepting unspecified codes on Medicare fee-for-service claims. The year of coding flexibilities that CMS agreed to last year in cooperation with the American Medical Association has expired and will not be extended.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access