Have you visited the Data Management Association's Web site (www.dama.org) lately? We have added several new features and updated many of the old ones. We now highlight major additions and updates on the home page to alert you to new items of interest. There have been many additions to the Chapter Resources page in response to the many requests we have received and the comments from the last DAMA Chapter Presidents' Council meeting in March. This page can link you to information for new chapter officers, a chapter's Web site FAQs, guidelines for running successful chapters, a DAMA speakers database, a DAMA calendar of events and much more.

Whenever you drop by the Web site, be sure to check the Resources page for links to other sites of interest to data management professionals. We've added a page for education and training that lists university programs and organizations that offer continuing education in data related areas. Our Events page lists upcoming conferences and calls for papers. Don't forget that there are links to all of the other chapters, many with their own Web sites. Several of these sites are great sources of professional information with papers and presentations on topics of interest to anyone in data management. We want the DAMA International site to be one of the primary portals for data resource management on the Web, along with the excellent DM Review Web site (www.dmreview.com).

Another exciting development we are working on is an electronic edition of the "Guidelines for Implementing Data Resource Management," which is compiled by DAMA Chicago and published and distributed by DAMA International. We are looking into creating a professional certification program in addition to the current DRM specialty exam that we sponsor in the ICCP's Certified Computing Professional Program. These are just some of the many ways that DAMA is working to grow recognition of information and data resource management as an important professional field that makes valuable contributions to all organizations everywhere.

My goal as vice president of Online Services is to not only make the Web site an essential reference for data management professionals, but also to make it easy to use. Please drop me a note at VP_Online_Services@dama.org if you have ideas for ways that I can make this site a more useful and valued resource for you in your work.

DAMA Chapter and Events Calendar
http://www.dama.org/
Austin/San Antonio Chapter now forming! Contact Attila Finta, afinta@earthlink.net, for more information.
Atlanta Contact Eileen Ponich, eponich@metlife.com, for meeting schedule.
Boston Email Kris Chatterjee, Kris_Chatterjee@gillette.com, for meeting schedule.
Brisbane, Australia Contact Paul Fendley, paul.fendley@dnr.gld.gov.au, for meeting schedule.
British Columbia, Canada Call Peter Kho, 604-666-3027, or e-mail khop@vcn.bc.ca.
Canberra, Australia E-mail Rob Smith- Roberts, robsr@acslink.net.au, for meeting details.
Carolina E-mail Doug McCurry, Douglas_McCurry@belk.com, for meeting schedule.
Chicago E-mail Brett Champlin, bchamplin@concentric.net, for meeting schedule, or visit http://www.damachicago.org/.
Dallas/Fort Worth Call Rodney Cole, 972-693-1009, for meeting schedule.
Denver
(Rocky Mountain)
Contact Janet Schoen, 303-758-3030, ext. 209 for meeting schedule or visit www.dama- rmc.org.
Heart of Texas DAMA contact interim president Neal Woods, stykman@texas.net or 210-565-2871.
Houston Contact Sabrina York, 281-997-0613, for meeting schedule.
Italy Contact Paolo Cecchellero, ceck@comm2000.it or 3923 02 2533, for meeting schedule.
Kansas City Contact Kevin Phelps, Kevin_Phelps@americancentury.com< /A> for more information.
Kentucky Tri- State Contact Pat Yount, 502-814-7794 or pyount@techrepublic.com, for more information.
London Chapter now forming! Contact Brett Champlin, bchamplin@concentric.net, for more information.
Los Angeles Contact Bill Harenburg, wharenburg@aol.com, for meeting schedule.
Melbourne, Australia Contact Daniel Moody, 61-3-9650-5100, or danielm@staff.dis.unimelb.edu.au or http://www.dama.org.au/ for details.
Minnesota Call Dawn Michels, 651-486-4626, for meeting schedule.
Nashville Contact Bryan Jones, 615-748-1421, for meeting schedule.
New Jersey Visit www.dama- nj.org for chapter information.
New York City Please see www.dama- ny.com or call 212-439-0063 for meeting details.
New York
(Northeast Region)
E-mail registration@damane.org or call 516- 221-5560 for meeting details.
North Florida Chapter now forming! Contact Susan E. Stelzmann, stelzman@mail.irm.state.fl.us, for more information.
Ohio
(Southwest)
Contact Mark Wysong, mwysong@kpmg.com, for meeting schedule.
Philadelphia/ Delaware Valley Chapter meets quarterly. Visit http://www.dama.org/chapters/philly.htmor call 610-690-1653 for more information.
Phoenix Laura Kostyo, 602-766-5486 or visit www.dama-phx.org, for meeting schedule.
Portland Call Linda Kresl, lkresl@rocketmail.com or 360-212-1179.
Rochester/ Upstate New York Contact Sue Bartleson, sbartleson@paychex.com, for meeting schedule.
Sacramento Valley Call Nabil Fares, 916-657-6083, nfares@dmv.ca.gov, for meeting schedule or visit www.dama.room.net P.O. Box 996, Sacramento, CA 95812-0996.
San Francisco Bay Area Call Rose Romero, 510-304-1044, for details or see www.sfdama.org.
Scandinavia Contact Eskil Swende, +46-8-80-22-40, or eskil.swende@irm.se for meeting schedule.
Seattle (DRMA) Contact Corey Smith, csmith@kanbay.com, for meeting schedule or visit www.halcyon.com/drma/.
Spain Chapter now forming! Contact Jesus Luengo, jgluengo@at- systems.com, for more information.
St. Louis Please visit the DAMA-St. Louis Chapter Web site at www.damastlouis.org for information about upcoming meetings and events.
Sydney, Australia Contact Anthony Popple, damasydney@poboxes.com, or +61-2-9211- 6200 for meeting and event details.
Topeka Chapter now forming! Contact Dan Roehler, 785-291-3477, for more information.
Toronto, Canada
(IRMAC)
Please visit the Toronto IRMAC Web site at www.irmac.ca for information about upcoming meetings and events.
Washington, D.C.
(National Capitol Region)
Contact Jim Carpenter, carpenterj@bls.gov, or www.dama-ncr.org or call DAMA- NCR headquarters at 703-442-8780.
Wisconsin Contact Cathy Stacy, cstacy@wpsic.com, for meeting details.

Send updates for this listing to vp_communications@dama.org

Can't find a chapter near you? Check out our Web site, www.dama.org, for information about our Member-at- Large program. Send updates for this listing to vp_communications@dama.org.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access