It's May, and we are well into the Year 2000 with no major upsets in the IT industry, at least as far as dates! The DAMA conference in March of this year had a record attendance, and there is a lot of activity globally with regard to a higher level of interest in DAMA. There seems to be a renewed sense of direction to information resource management, the continuing thrust of the information age and the feeling of energy behind global activity.

I joined the board of DAMA this year, having been a past president of the Rochester, New York, Chapter and presented at DAMA on numerous occasions. I was very pleasantly surprised at the level of activity that I found in DAMA Chapter Services. In the United States, there are new chapters forming in the heart of Texas, Central Virginia, Central Florida and Iowa. Internationally, we have had inquiries from the U.K., Spain, Korea and India, and we already have a strong representation in Australia.

Data management software has experienced a lot of of changes in 1999 and 2000. Computer Associates' purchase of Platinum gave rise to concerns about the direction of data repositories. Sterling's purchase of Cayenne followed by Computer Associates' purchase of Sterling gave us similar concerns about process and data modeling tool futures.

Concerns like this and many other aspects of information resource management are why data administrators and database professionals alike join DAMA. The DAMA Chapters provide a local forum near your workplace so that you can get together with other professionals in your industry to learn and share ideas, and hear about real world experiences.

I encourage all of you to find out more about DAMA and the DAMA chapter near you as listed below. Visit our Web site at www.dama.org or drop me a line at vp_chapter services@dama.org.

DAMA Chapter and Events Calendar
http://www.dama.org/
Austin/San Antonio Chapter now forming! Contact Attila Finta, afinta@earthlink.net, for more information.
Atlanta Contact Eileen Ponich, eponich@metlife.com, for meeting schedule.
Boston Email Kris Chatterjee, Kris_Chatterjee@gillette.com, for meeting schedule.
Brisbane, Australia Contact Paul Fendley, paul.fendley@dnr.gld.gov.au, for meeting schedule.
British Columbia, Canada Call Peter Kho, 604-666-3027, or e-mail khop@vcn.bc.ca.
Canberra, Australia E-mail Rob Smith- Roberts, robsr@acslink.net.au, for meeting details.
Carolina E-mail Doug McCurry, Douglas_McCurry@belk.com, for meeting schedule.
Chicago E-mail Brett Champlin, bchamplin@concentric.net, for meeting schedule, or visit http://www.damachicago.org/.
Dallas/Fort Worth Call Rodney Cole, 972-693-1009, for meeting schedule.
Denver
(Rocky Mountain)
May 11: "Data Warehousing," Tim Forman, NCR. Contact Janet Schoen, 303-758- 3030, ext. 209 for meeting schedule or visit www.dama-rmc.org.
Heart of Texas DAMA contact interim president Neal Woods, stykman@texas.net or 210-565-2871.
Houston Contact Sabrina York, 281-997-0613, for meeting schedule.
Italy Contact Paolo Cecchellero, ceck@comm2000.it or 3923 02 2533, for meeting schedule.
Kansas City Contact Kevin Phelps, Kevin_Phelps@americancentury.com< /A> for more information.
Kentucky Tri- State Contact Pat Lavigne, 502-774-7425, for more information.
London Chapter now forming! Contact Brett Champlin, bchamplin@concentric.net, for more information.
Los Angeles Contact Bill Harenburg, wharenburg@aol.com, for meeting schedule.
Melbourne, Australia Contact Daniel Moody, +61-3-9650-5100, or danielm@staff.dis.unimelb.edu.au or http://www.dama.org.au/ for details.
Minnesota Call Dawn Michels, 651-486-4626, for meeting schedule.
Nashville Contact Bryan Jones, 615-748-1421, for meeting schedule.
New Jersey Visit www.dama- nj.org for chapter information.
New York City Please see www.dama- ny.com or call 212-439-0063 for meeting details.
New York
(Northeast Region)
E-mail registration@damane.org or call 516- 221-5560 for meeting details.
North Florida Chapter now forming! Contact Susan E. Stelzmann, stelzman@mail.irm.state.fl.us, for more information.
Ohio
(Southwest)
Contact Mark Wysong, mwysong@kpmg.com, for meeting schedule.
Philadelphia/ Delaware Valley Chapter meets quarterly. Visit http://www.dama.org/chapters/philly.htmor call 610-690-1653 for more information.
Phoenix Contact Stephanie Dietzman, sldietzm@srpnet.com, for meeting schedule.
Portland May 23: David Plotkin. Call Linda Kresl, lkresl@rocketmail.com or 360-212-1179.
Rochester/ Upstate New York Contact David P. James, dpjames@us.ibm.com, for meeting schedule.
Sacramento Valley Call Nabil Fares, 916-657-6083, nfares@dmv.ca.gov, for meeting schedule or visit www.dama.room.net P.O. Box 996, Sacramento, CA 95812-0996.
San Francisco Bay Area Call Rose Romero, 415-394-0900, for details.
Scandinavia Contact Eskil Swende, +46-8-80-22-40, or eskil.swende@irm.se for meeting schedule.
Seattle (DRMA) Contact Corey Smith, csmith@kanbay.com, for meeting schedule or visit www.halcyon.com/drma/.
Spain Chapter now forming! Contact Jesus Luengo, jgluengo@at- systems.com, for more information.
St. Louis Please visit the DAMA-St. Louis Chapter Web site at www.damastlouis.org for information about upcoming meetings and events.
Sydney, Australia Contact Anthony Popple, damasydney@poboxes.com, or +61-2- 9211-6200 for meeting and event details.
Topeka Chapter now forming! Contact Dan Roehler, 785-291-3477, for more information.
Toronto, Canada
(IRMAC)
Please visit the Toronto IRMAC Web site at www.irmac.ca for information about upcoming meetings and events.
Washington, D.C.
(National Capitol Region)
Contact Jim Carpenter, carpenterj@bls.gov, or www.dama-ncr.org or call DAMA- NCR headquarters at 703-442-8780.
Wisconsin Contact Cathy Stacy, cstacy@wpsic.com, for meeting details.

Send updates for this listing to vp_communications@dama.org

Can't find a chapter near you? Check out our Web site, www.dama.org, for information about our Member-at- Large program. Send updates for this listing to vp_communications@dama.org.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access