The DAMA International Symposium held in Washington, D.C., this past March was our largest and most successful Symposium. Since DAMA International began collocating their Symposium with the Meta Data Conference, the interest and attendance has continually increased. There were six tracks of presentations covering a wide variety of topics, nearly 900 attendees and the largest vendor participation in DAMA's history. The 2001 DAMA International Symposium and Meta Data Conference in Anaheim next March promises to be even better.

The objectives I stated for DAMA International (in the March issue of DM Review) included making it a premier organization, increasing membership and increasing the size and scope of the Symposium. One problem has been that the International Symposium has been held in the United States, with one exception in Vancouver, Canada. If DAMA International is to become a truly international organization with a larger international membership and an international perspective, the symposiums must be held in other countries.

The possibility recently arose for a DAMA International Europe 2000 Symposium in conjunction with the Meta Data Europe 2000 Conference in London, November 29 through December 1. This is an exciting opportunity for DAMA International to gain wider international visibility and to exchange experiences with an international audience. It is also a great opportunity to have a meeting of current and prospective European DAMA members and to establish a DAMA U.K. Chapter.

The theme for the Symposium is The Data Management Side of Evolving Trends. The emphasis will be on approaches, success stories and lessons learned about managing data related to any of the current trends in information technology. The topics will be oriented toward the practical aspects of understanding and managing the data resource to support the information needs of public and private sector organizations. International speakers and topics will be featured at this Symposium.

DAMA International hopes that this first European Symposium will be as successful as those held in the United States and will continue to grow in both topics and attendance. We also hope that the success of this European Symposium will lead to DAMA International Symposiums in other countries. Please go to the DAMA International Web page (www.dama.org) for details on this Symposium, other DAMA International events and local chapter information.

DAMA Chapter and Events Calendar
http://www.dama.org/
Austin/San Antonio Chapter now forming! Contact Attila Finta, afinta@earthlink.net, for more information.
Atlanta Contact Eileen Ponich, eponich@metlife.com, for meeting schedule.
Boston Email Kris Chatterjee, Kris_Chatterjee@gillette.com, for meeting schedule.
Brisbane, Australia Contact Paul Fendley, paul.fendley@dnr.gld.gov.au, for meeting schedule.
British Columbia, Canada Call Peter Kho, 604-666-3027, or e-mail khop@vcn.bc.ca.
Canberra, Australia E-mail Rob Smith- Roberts, robsr@acslink.net.au, for meeting details.
Carolina E-mail Doug McCurry, Douglas_McCurry@belk.com, for meeting schedule.
Chicago E-mail Brett Champlin, bchamplin@concentric.net, for meeting schedule, or visit http://www.damachicago.org/.
Dallas/Fort Worth Call Rodney Cole, 972-693-1009, for meeting schedule.
Denver
(Rocky Mountain)
Contact Janet Schoen, 303-758-3030, ext. 209 for meeting schedule or visit www.dama- rmc.org.
Heart of Texas DAMA contact interim president Neal Woods, stykman@texas.net or 210-565-2871.
Houston Contact Sabrina York, 281-997-0613, for meeting schedule.
Italy Contact Paolo Cecchellero, ceck@comm2000.it or 3923 02 2533, for meeting schedule.
Kansas City Contact Kevin Phelps, Kevin_Phelps@americancentury.com< /A> for more information.
Kentucky Tri- State Contact Pat Yount, 502-814-7794 or pyount@techrepublic.com, for more information.
London Chapter now forming! Contact Brett Champlin, bchamplin@concentric.net, for more information.
Los Angeles Contact Bill Harenburg, wharenburg@aol.com, for meeting schedule.
Melbourne, Australia Contact Daniel Moody, 61-3-9650-5100, or danielm@staff.dis.unimelb.edu.au or http://www.dama.org.au/ for details.
Minnesota Call Dawn Michels, 651-486-4626, for meeting schedule.
Nashville Contact Bryan Jones, 615-748-1421, for meeting schedule.
New Jersey Visit www.dama- nj.org for chapter information.
New York City Please see www.dama- ny.com or call 212-439-0063 for meeting details.
New York
(Northeast Region)
E-mail registration@damane.org or call 516- 221-5560 for meeting details.
North Florida Chapter now forming! Contact Susan E. Stelzmann, stelzman@mail.irm.state.fl.us, for more information.
Ohio
(Southwest)
Contact Mark Wysong, mwysong@kpmg.com, for meeting schedule.
Philadelphia/ Delaware Valley Chapter meets quarterly. Visit http://www.dama.org/chapters/philly.htmor call 610-690-1653 for more information.
Phoenix Laura Kostyo, 602-766-5486 or visit www.dama-phx.org, for meeting schedule.
Portland Call Linda Kresl, lkresl@rocketmail.com or 360-212-1179.
Rochester/ Upstate New York Contact Sue Bartleson, sbartleson@paychex.com, for meeting schedule.
Sacramento Valley Call Nabil Fares, 916-657-6083, nfares@dmv.ca.gov, for meeting schedule or visit www.dama.room.net P.O. Box 996, Sacramento, CA 95812-0996.
San Francisco Bay Area Call Rose Romero, 510-304-1044, for details or see www.sfdama.org.
Scandinavia Contact Eskil Swende, +46-8-80-22-40, or eskil.swende@irm.se for meeting schedule.
Seattle (DRMA) Contact Corey Smith, csmith@kanbay.com, for meeting schedule or visit www.halcyon.com/drma/.
Spain Chapter now forming! Contact Jesus Luengo, jgluengo@at- systems.com, for more information.
St. Louis Please visit the DAMA-St. Louis Chapter Web site at www.damastlouis.org for information about upcoming meetings and events.
Sydney, Australia Contact Anthony Popple, damasydney@poboxes.com, or +61-2-9211- 6200 for meeting and event details.
Topeka Chapter now forming! Contact Dan Roehler, 785-291-3477, for more information.
Toronto, Canada
(IRMAC)
Please visit the Toronto IRMAC Web site at www.irmac.ca for information about upcoming meetings and events.
Washington, D.C.
(National Capitol Region)
Contact Jim Carpenter, carpenterj@bls.gov, or www.dama-ncr.org or call DAMA- NCR headquarters at 703-442-8780.
Wisconsin Contact Cathy Stacy, cstacy@wpsic.com, for meeting details.

Send updates for this listing to vp_communications@dama.org

Can't find a chapter near you? Check out our Web site, www.dama.org, for information about our Member-at- Large program. Send updates for this listing to vp_communications@dama.org.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access