The Department of Health and Human Services has named 21 healthcare industry stakeholders to the Health Care Industry Cybersecurity Task Force that was authorized under the Cybersecurity Information Sharing Act of 2015.

The task force will devise ideas for better cyber preparedness across the industry. Recommendations for task force members came from HHS, the Department of Homeland Security and the National Institutes of Standards and Technologies. A report is expected in 2017 as the task force’s charter expires in March.

Six of the members represent providers or health insurers, with the rest representing a range of information technology, governance and security expertise, as well as representatives of HHS, DHS and NIST.


The members include Theresa Meadows, RN, SVP and CIO at Cook Children’s Health Care System; Michael McNeil of the global product security and services office at Philips Healthcare; George Decesare, SVP and chief technology risk officer at Kaiser Permanente Health Plan; Terry Rice, VP of IT risk management and CISO at Merck; Roy Mellinger, VP of IT security and CISO at Anthem, Joshua Corman, co-founder of I Am The Cavlary; Allisa Johnson, CISO at Stryker Corp.; Mark Jarrett, SVP and chief quality officer at Northwell Health, Vito Sardanopoli, director of cyber security services and governance at Quest Diagnostics; and Jack Monson, chief privacy and information security officer at Sutter Health.

Also See: Cybersecurity accreditation program targets vendors

Additional members include Dan McWhorter, VP and chief intelligence strategist at FireEye Inc.; Ram Ramadoss, VP of privacy, information security and EHR compliance at Catholic Health Initiatives; Anura Fernando, principal engineer for medical and software systems interoperability at United Laboratories; Fred Trotter, data journalist at CareSet Systems; Emery Csulak, CISO at CMS; David Ting, CTO at Imprivata; Laura Laybourn; director of stakeholder engagement and cyber infrastructure resilience at HHS; Christine Sublett, CISO and head of compliance at Augmedix Inc.; Kevin Stine, chief of the applied cybersecurity division at and information technology laboratory at the National Institutes of Standards and Technology; David Finn, health information technology officer at Symantec Corp.; and Lauren Thompson, director of the Department of Defense/Department of Veteran Affairs Interagency Program Office.

(This article appears courtesy of our sister publication, Health Data Management)

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access