In last month's column I introduced the concept of the systems engineering capability maturity model (CMM) and illustrated the value that this model can provide to an enterprise. In this installment I will explain the key CMM concepts and walk through each of the six CMM levels.

There are five key CMM concepts: consistent, repeatable, transferable, quantitative and qualitative. As I discuss these vital concepts I will use the IT task of project planning for illustrative purposes.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Information Management content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access